08-14-07, 04:31 PM   #1
Dylen
A Defias Bandit
Viewport Questions

Just a couple questions regarding "Viewport" type mods:

1) As an extreme example, let's say I used the viewport to reduce the visibible screen view to about 50% of normal size, would my frame rate be the same, worse, or better. Basically I am concernec about it becoming worse due to the CPU doing more work.

2) When you adjust the viewport is the resulting view still at (or close to) the same perspective? For example, let's say I used viewport to have a 2 inch black strip on each side of the screen, would I end up missing some of the view or woudl it all resize and stretch to give the same type perspective?

I dunno that I worded my questions real clear. Still a total newbie with the viewport thing. So far I am liking what it can do though.

-Dylen
08-14-07, 06:34 PM   #2
MidgetMage55
Grinch!

AddOn Author - Click to view addons
I read in a few forums that adjusting the viewport was similar to adjusting the resolution of your game/display.your rendering a smaller image so the system is working less so in theory your framerate could improve. it should not get worse.

In answer to #2 when you add viewport to your UI you are in actuality resizing the rendered area. Think of it like a Photo. Your monitor is the frame. A viewport is basically taking the same size frame and resizing your picture within that frame. So you end up with the full picture just smaller.

I think Hong Kong Phooey was a ninja AND a pirate. That was just too much awesome. - Yhor
08-14-07, 07:14 PM   #3
Dreadlorde
A Pyroguard Emberseer

I'm confirming that changing your resolution to some thing bigger (EX: 800x600), you frame rate will improve. Mine at 1280x104 is around 10fps with a bunch of addons. At 800x600 its 15-20 in org on a friday.

Funtoo - Plan 9 - Windows 7
08-14-07, 07:31 PM   #4
Seerah
Fishing Trainer

WoWInterface Super Mod
Featured
1. Midget has it right - the computer is rendering less, so things should improve.