Quantcast
Antivirus Help! - WoWInterface
Thread Tools Display Modes
09-25-10, 11:47 PM   #1
fishm3ist3r
A Murloc Raider
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 5
Antivirus Help!

My computer is an AW m11x
i7 640UM
4gb DDR3
1gb Nvidia geforce 335m (Dedicated)
HDD

My laptop currently has 1 year Mcafee installed. I also have access to Avast! Internet Security (Full Paid Version), and was wondering which of the two would be better for my computer? I considered Avast because it has the "silent gaming mode" which I think might improve WoW performance, however I don't really know what to get.

PS: I will also be installing Malwarebytes Anti-malware and Super Anti-spyware later in the future (soon), but they will not be running in the background. They will only be installed and used in emergencies.

I'm looking for the best possible performance for WoW and security. Would I experience an increase in performance by switching to Avast! IS? or do you guys recommend me a better AV?
  Reply With Quote
09-26-10, 12:03 AM   #2
Cralor
Mmm... cookies!!!
 
Cralor's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 772
Honestly, I've only had bad experience with McAfee. It's popularity is only driven by the fact that it is placed in computers before selling them to customers (aka "bloatware"). (Which is how you got yours.)

I'm not sure of it's current state, but I've always experienced it as a large resource-hog.

In my opinion, there is no "best" Anti-Virus. Each has their pros and cons, and if you ever go to a website for Anti-Virus Assistance, they will have you use many programs to get your issue resolved.

So, to directly answer "McAfee vs. Avast!", I'd say Avast!. I've only ever tried the free version, and really enjoyed it. When you also utilize MalwareBytes and SUPERAntiSpyware as "scan when you feel like it" programs, I think that's a great combination.

Remember: only ever have ONE Realtime Scanner (aka teatimer, on-access scanner). They will conflict. But having several "scanner" programs will not be so bad (just maybe the occasional false alarm while scanning, though I haven't experienced this recently).

Personally, I've just been sticking with SUPERAntiSpyware, MalwareBytes, and MSE (Microsoft Security Essentials) as my realtime scanner.

Hope this information is of help.
__________________
Never be satisfied with satisfactory.
  Reply With Quote
09-26-10, 12:46 AM   #3
Jzar
A Chromatic Dragonspawn
 
Jzar's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 158
Silent Gaming Mode is a way to disable alerts from stealing focus when you're in a game. Unless Avast is constantly popping up and telling you you have a virus, it is of no benefit to you.

That said, I've been using the free version of Avast! for probably about five years. I can't actually tell you if it's any good or not because ... I've never gotten a virus. (That's a good recommendation, in other words)

It's also way better than McAffee in terms of performance hit, so it's pretty good that way too. Good luck!
  Reply With Quote
09-26-10, 12:59 AM   #4
Rilgamon
Premium Member
 
Rilgamon's Avatar
Premium Member
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 790
Using the paid version of avira. I would recommend it over any other
antivirus (except kaspersky). The balance of resources used to security
is for the two the best (imo).

But like Cralor said, there is no "best" solution.

There is a free private edition of avira to test it. But the comparable
low price of the premium version of the standalone avira (there is a package
with firewall etc, too) makes it easy to recommend the paid version
which you can even test for some time before it expires (iirc 4 weeks).

http://www.avira.com/en/pages/index.php
__________________
The cataclysm broke the world ... and the pandas could not fix it!
  Reply With Quote
09-26-10, 01:56 AM   #5
Xubera
A Cobalt Mageweaver
 
Xubera's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 207
is it bad that i dont use one? I have AVG as it was required by my school, and pretty much to use my school internet, you have to have their 3rd party software which bars you from their network if your compromised...

any ways... i never run AVG, AVG never pops up with alerts, so i guess i never worry about it :/
__________________
Chat Consolidate is the solution to any out of control trade chat. Ignore lines, throttle chat, consolidate posts!Follow the link to find out how!

▲ ▲ WoWInterface wont let me triforce >.>
  Reply With Quote
09-26-10, 08:01 AM   #6
Xinhuan
A Chromatic Dragonspawn
 
Xinhuan's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 174
You can try out Microsoft Security Essentials as well, it is received quite favourably and "fared better in AV-Test.org test: It detected and caught 98.44 percent of 545,034 computer viruses, computer worms and software Trojan horses as well as 90.95 percent of 14,222 spyware and adware samples. It also detected and eliminated all 25 tested rootkits. It generated no false-positive at all."

It's free and easy to use.
__________________
Author of Postal, Omen3, GemHelper, BankItems, WoWEquip, GatherMate, GatherMate2, Routes and Cartographer_Routes
  Reply With Quote
09-26-10, 09:20 AM   #7
Waky
A Cobalt Mageweaver
 
Waky's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 200
Originally Posted by Xinhuan View Post
You can try out Microsoft Security Essentials as well, it is received quite favourably and "fared better in AV-Test.org test: It detected and caught 98.44 percent of 545,034 computer viruses, computer worms and software Trojan horses as well as 90.95 percent of 14,222 spyware and adware samples. It also detected and eliminated all 25 tested rootkits. It generated no false-positive at all."

It's free and easy to use.
I know a couple of people who use it, and I've heard it's great. I personally have Kaspersky, but I do have MSE on my Laptop (I never use my laptop though.) I've not heard anything bad about MSE. :P
  Reply With Quote
09-26-10, 09:40 AM   #8
Dawn
A Molten Giant
 
Dawn's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 918
Microsoft Security Essentials or Avast! are both good choices. I used Avira before switching over to Avast! and will not go back. Not only because Avast is using slightly less resources, but because it doesn't pop up a god damn annoying advertisement every time it either updates Avira or starts your pc. The same ad also makes you switch to the desktop automatically, which quite frankly ... sucks a lot.
__________________
Rock: "We're sub-standard DPS. Nerf Paper, Scissors are fine."
Paper: "OMG, WTF, Scissors!"
Scissors: "Rock is OP and Paper are QQers. We need PvP buffs."

"neeh the game wont be remembered as the game who made blizz the most money, it will be remembered as the game who had the most QQ'ers that just couldnt quit the game for some reason..."

  Reply With Quote
09-26-10, 12:00 PM   #9
fishm3ist3r
A Murloc Raider
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 5
Okay, to make this easier, I just want to know these two things... Which Antivirus uses the least amount of resources and Which antivirus is the best during gaming(gaming mode or whatever).
Here are the AV's I'm considering: Vipre, Nod32, Avast! Internet Security, BitDefender 2010 Internet Security.

This is what I think is in order of what uses least resources: (correct me if wrong)
1. Nod32
2. Vipre Premium
3. Avast! Internet Security
4. BitDefender 2010 Internet Security

This is what I think is in order of best during gaming(WoW) (correct me if wrong)
1. Avast!
2. BitDefender
3. Vipre
4. Nod32


Previous Post:
Alright then, I think I'll uninstall the Mcafee AV on my m11x, and install Avast Internet Security.

Well... Now that I've 'set-up' my two laptops, I need to set-up AV protection on the last two computers in my house. One of which is a y2k Dell Desktop with Intel Pentium Core
759MB DDR1 Ram
60GB HDD

And a Sony Vaio laptop with
Intel Centrino (Pentium M core I believe)
1.49GB DDR1 Ram
70GB HDD

Out of the specs on those two computers, which of these AV's should I install on each of them? Avast! Internet Security, Eset Nod32, Vipre Antivirus Premium, BitDefender 2010 Internet Security, or... Mcafee.

Last edited by fishm3ist3r : 09-26-10 at 02:02 PM.
  Reply With Quote
09-26-10, 04:16 PM   #10
Xinhuan
A Chromatic Dragonspawn
 
Xinhuan's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 174
From what I read, Microsoft Security Essentials probably uses the least resources (lol). But I don't have the numbers to back it up.
__________________
Author of Postal, Omen3, GemHelper, BankItems, WoWEquip, GatherMate, GatherMate2, Routes and Cartographer_Routes
  Reply With Quote
09-26-10, 06:22 PM   #11
fishm3ist3r
A Murloc Raider
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 5
Other than MSE, what about Vipre and Nod32? I just wish there was a site that gave data on cpu/ram usage on those two products...
  Reply With Quote
09-26-10, 07:25 PM   #12
Elhana
A Wyrmkin Dreamwalker
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 51
From what I heard Nod32 was ok and wasn't trying to use all of your cpu and ram like Kaspersky. Install them one by one and test WoW performance with them then post your benchmark ) I bet some people are interested too.

As for me I do not run resident AV at all. Router in between LAN and Internetz solves the problem with worms and script kiddies. Virustotal & co help to check suspicious files (cracks, keygens). Common sense saves from downloading stuff from random sites. Best cpu/ram usage too.
  Reply With Quote
09-26-10, 08:09 PM   #13
Dridzt
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
Dridzt's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,257
I'm using F-Secure Client Security 9.x.

What I've found to make a substantial difference is to exclude World of Warcraft's installation folder from the real-time scanning engine.

It is still included in my weekly scans and nothing gets copied in it (eg. addons) without me scanning it manually and scrutinizing it.

It does make quite a difference performance-wise as it prevents the AV engine from scanning the WoW's files whenever a cache gets updated etc.

This is what I found to be causing 'stutters' when textures or data was downloaded to be cached locally, same for disc reads.

The point of this is:
Before looking for a new AV check if your current one allows you to exclude WoW's directory and processes from real-time scanning.
  Reply With Quote
09-26-10, 08:21 PM   #14
Petrah
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
Petrah's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 2,988
I've used AVG Free and MSE. Not sure which one I would be happier with as they both perform equally well. Never noticed any resorce hogging from either of the two since I leave my PC on 24/7, and have complete scans ran very early in the morning when I'm not up.

What I currently run:
MSE
Windows Firewall
SuperAntiSpyware
CCleaner

Not being able to get to an infected site to begin with is the majority of the battle and amazing defense.

OpenDNS
Custom Host File
__________________
♪~ ( ) I My Sonos!
AddOn Authors: If your addon spams the chat box with "Addon v8.3.4.5.3 now loaded!", please add an option to disable it!
  Reply With Quote
09-27-10, 04:36 PM   #15
fishm3ist3r
A Murloc Raider
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 5
Here are my stats from McAfee to Avast! then finally to Nod32.

McAfee used about ~50% of my Ram
Avast! used about ~35% of my Ram
Nod32 uses currently about 15%-20% of my Ram...(Without modifying settings)

So I am using a trial of Nod32 on my m11x, and my HP. But I'm wondering if I should put Vipre on my HP, and put Avast! on my gf's HP computer(faster than my HP). I was thinking of putting Avast! on hers because it's more bubbly and 'user-friendly' than vipre.

Man, I wish I had a side-by side comparison of Vipre, Avast, and Nod32...
  Reply With Quote
09-27-10, 05:24 PM   #16
Marthisdil
An Onyxian Warder
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 363
Originally Posted by fishm3ist3r View Post
My computer is an AW m11x
i7 640UM
4gb DDR3
1gb Nvidia geforce 335m (Dedicated)
HDD

My laptop currently has 1 year Mcafee installed. I also have access to Avast! Internet Security (Full Paid Version), and was wondering which of the two would be better for my computer? I considered Avast because it has the "silent gaming mode" which I think might improve WoW performance, however I don't really know what to get.

PS: I will also be installing Malwarebytes Anti-malware and Super Anti-spyware later in the future (soon), but they will not be running in the background. They will only be installed and used in emergencies.

I'm looking for the best possible performance for WoW and security. Would I experience an increase in performance by switching to Avast! IS? or do you guys recommend me a better AV?
Microsoft - www.microsoft.com/security_essentials

Free, rates highly on the AV Comparatives website (which does bi-annual tests/comparisons of all the big AV players), and well, it's free, doesn't hog up a lot of resources, and it works.
__________________

Marth



  Reply With Quote
09-27-10, 09:40 PM   #17
Shannara80
A Murloc Raider
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 5
AV apps

Coming from personal experience, I have used Avira, Avast!, AVGfree, and Nod32 (current AV on my rig). Of all of them I like NOD32 the best.

Avira, while good at stopping the viruses from getting in, just got too annoying for me with the add that it pops up (cause it would do it randomly).

Avast!, is another good choice, but it can give you several false positives in some cases. Like if you d/l Leatrix Latency Fix.. the moment you run that Avast will tell you that something is trying to edit the registry. While this is a good thing can get annoying if you know what you are doing, and it has a habit of preventing some applications from editing the registry (again not always a bad thing).

AVGfree, is a solid choice, as the only difference between the paid version and the free is that you have to manually run the scan on your drives. While this does prevent the program from using resources that are needed elsewhere, it can be a problem if you are prone to forget that you need to run a scan.

Nod32, by far my personal favorite, I have not had a problem at all with viruses and such with this, and it doesn't interfere with performance in wow. It is also one of the highest rated AV apps out there currently.

Now, I know that there are others out there that have their own ideas as to what is best for AV, and then there are those that say that if you are smart you don't need it. But its always best to be prepared and armed then to think that you can't be affected by viruses (just my opinion). Also, if you really want to put an AV program to the test, point your browser to Spycar.org and follow the directions. I did this with Nod32 and it stopped everything (even the removal app lol).

Sorry about the wall of text, but thought I would just add my 2.
  Reply With Quote
09-27-10, 10:47 PM   #18
brotherhobbes
A Rage Talon Dragon Guard
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 313
I use Panda Cloud.
  Reply With Quote
09-27-10, 11:04 PM   #19
sacrife
An Onyxian Warder
 
sacrife's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 384
I also recommend Nod32. Well worth the purchase.
__________________

  Reply With Quote
09-28-10, 01:19 AM   #20
Petrah
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
Petrah's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 2,988
Originally Posted by Shannara80 View Post

the only difference between the paid version and the free is that you have to manually run the scan on your drives. While this does prevent the program from using resources that are needed elsewhere, it can be a problem if you are prone to forget that you need to run a scan.
This is not true. My roomie purchased the full AVG Internet Security Suite, which I installed and set up to do a full scan of all three of his drives every morning at 4am. I had the free version of AVG on this machine (until I decided to test run MSE for awhile), on my daughters machine, and also just installed AVG on my new laptop. The free version does indeed have options to do the same types of scans as the paid version at any time intervals that you want, options to run on specific drives, all drives, specific folders, or specific files.

The only real difference between the paid version and the free version is you get more crap with the paid version that you really don't need, and even on a beefy machine it's (the paid version) a resource hog. As for the AVG Free... I've never been able to notice that it's running. In other words, it's light on resources as long as you're not running a full scan while your on the PC.
__________________
♪~ ( ) I My Sonos!
AddOn Authors: If your addon spams the chat box with "Addon v8.3.4.5.3 now loaded!", please add an option to disable it!

Last edited by Petrah : 09-28-10 at 04:18 PM. Reason: clarification
  Reply With Quote

WoWInterface » General Discussion » Tech Chat » Antivirus Help!

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off