Thread Tools Display Modes
02-18-06, 02:20 PM   #1
Joker5
A Murloc Raider
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 4
Visor/VisorGUI Help

I installed visor and visorgui yesterday and started to play around. A couple of things i noticed that I don't understand. Using VisorGUI my goal was to modofy the placement and size of the CT_MOD style player buffs. I could only seem to select each buff separately, not the group of buffs as a whole unit. Is there a way to select the whole group of buffs, seen and unseen, and modify them en masse?

Another issue came up as i was trying to move BuffButton2 (i think it was 2 anyway) and it disappeared completely. /rl couldn't bring it back, nor could restarting the game. The only way I found to get it back was to disable Visor. Can it move offscreen? Under a textue? I only Nudged it by 20 or so, it should have been in a predictable place. A related issue is how do i call that item (BuffButton2) via text in the GUI when it's not visible? I tried 'BuffButton2' (without the quotes) but as soon as i tried to manipulate it, it changed by itself to BuffButton1 and moved that instead.

I'd also like to be able to move the ToolTip, but the GRAB feature doesn't seem to work with that. How do i call that one out?

Thanks in advance.
  Reply With Quote
02-18-06, 05:36 PM   #2
Cidrei
A Fallenroot Satyr
 
Cidrei's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 21
The tricky part with using Visor (and by extension, VisorGUI) is that you generally have to know the name of what it is you're trying to move. VisorGUIs Grab button helps things immensely, but as you've discovered, that doesn't always work the way you'd expect or like it to. If you know what you're looking for, you can almost always find the name of the frame you want in the addon's xml file. In the case of the CT_Mod Buff Frame, it's CT_BuffFrame. That should move the entire buff container at once.

As for manually selecting something via VisorGUI, you have to type its name in the box, and then hit ENTER. If you don't hit enter, the frame won't be selected, and you'll end up moving whatever the last frame was Visor had active. You can also delete items from your VisorDB by using either the Delete button in VisorGUI (after activating the frame you want to delete), or by using Visor's delete command "/vz del BuffButton2" (in this case). You can also force the frame to appear directly under your mouse cursor with "vz set f=BuffButton2 c=TRUE".
  Reply With Quote
02-19-06, 02:28 PM   #3
Tain
A Deviate Faerie Dragon
 
Tain's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 17
Cidrei is right in that you sometimes have to know what you're trying to move, not just what you're looking at. For example with the CT buffs, you can move the individual buff frames around, but what you really want is the frame that "holds" all of those buffs, that's the CT_BuffFrame as Cidrei said. Sometimes the actual name of the frame you'll never be able to "grab" as it isn't truly visible to you. VisorGUI does show you the name of the parent of the frame you currently are targetting, sometimes that can be a big help since it's sometimes the parent that you can move to ge the results that you want. Unless the parent is, "UIParent" or "WorldParent". Don't move those.

Really though there's no easy way to be completely sure of what the frame name is that you need to move for some things, it depends entirely how they are coded and the coding style can vary greatly from person to version. The only way to know for sure is to dig into the XML itself and understand what frames are relative to what other frames.

Also you can't move the tooltip with Visor as it is a frame that gets re-anchored by the game itself constantly. There are some other small addons that can do this, I personally use Tipster . That is all it does is relocate the tooltips for you, but still to a set of pre-defined locations. If you wanted it somewhere other than Tipster can do, I'm not completely sure what you'd have to do.
  Reply With Quote
02-20-06, 03:12 AM   #4
Joker5
A Murloc Raider
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 4
I've made some progress since reading Cidrei's post...I found BuffButton2 which was nice I'll have to look at the parent frame for the buff buttons more closely--i tried manipulating CT_BuffFrame, but that is the frame for the style of buff buttons that I don't use (the ones that stack vertically on the right). I use the ones that are horizontal at the top of the UI. I'll look at the parent frame of one of the buttons and see if that offers any clues. I've not used xml code at all before, but perhaps a bit of searching in the .xml file will tell me what i'm looking for as well.

On the issue of the tooltip, I'm probably calling it the wrong thing. The frame I want to control is the one that usually appears in a static position in the LR corner during any mouse-over events. Not the one you get, for example, by hovering over an inventory item that is always near the cursor. I use CT_MOD to position this thing i'm calling a tooltip in it's alternate spot at the top of the screen, in the center. It obscures my Boss Panel in that postion and is too big anyway.

One other issue I can't get a handle on is after moving around a couple buff buttons, they now don't go away when the buff expires. It takes another one to overwrite it before it will change. Did using the 'Hide' or 'Show' button in VZG alter it's normal behavior somehow? I'm assuming that it's supposed to hide itself once that buff expires, but I'm wondering if a 'Show' might be overriding it. Any way to get it back to normal?

Thanks!

[edit] One other thing i'd like to know how to do (if it's possible) is to force Visor to release it's hold of an element to let it go back to it's default (i.e. pre-visor) condition. The only way I can get it done now is to disable the visor addon.

Last edited by Joker5 : 02-20-06 at 03:18 AM.
  Reply With Quote
02-20-06, 09:54 AM   #5
Tain
A Deviate Faerie Dragon
 
Tain's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 17
Hi Joker, that is actually still the tooltip, the system just puts it in different places depending on the function. That's why you do have to run some other tooltip managing program that handles those different cases.

To remove something from being managed by Visor you have to do /vz del FrameName
and then it will take effect at the next reload. There's no way to really have it take effect immediately to go back to it's unmanaged state, Visor doesn't actually know what the default state is.

I'm not sure about the buffs hiding/showing after moving, I would think that should work automatically but obviously if it doesn't there's more to it. Maybe someone who's moved those around can help? I admit I've never moved the buff frames around, I've been ok with the positioning I get from my unitframe mods.
  Reply With Quote
02-22-06, 08:58 AM   #6
Joker5
A Murloc Raider
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 4
Much more success moving things around since last time. The issue with the buffs not going away when expired is resolved--it has something to do with moving the BuffButton itself instead of the whole BuffFrame. After deleting visor's association with the buttons, they started behaving normally. I was also able to then move the BuffFrame without incident.

Do you know what the name of the casting bar frame is? I think it's called the casting bar anyway...its that bar that fills as you wind up a spell cast. I tried to grab it from VZG but no joy.

Thanks!
  Reply With Quote
03-04-06, 03:51 AM   #7
Kieron
A Kobold Labourer
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1
Visor Edit Box

I used Visor to change the size and location of the chat edit box, and now it won't go away after I press enter. Is this a known bug? How can I fix it?
  Reply With Quote

WoWInterface » AddOns, Compilations, Macros » AddOn Search/Requests » Visor/VisorGUI Help

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off