Thread Tools Display Modes
11-19-10, 01:31 AM   #1
Talyrius
An Onyxian Warder
 
Talyrius's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 363
How to classify new Cataclysm bosses?

Does anyone know of a way to identify bosses in the new dungeons and raids in Cataclysm? UnitClassification(unit) no longer returns 'worldboss' for them. There must be some type of unique attribute other than GUID that can be used to determine this.

Any ideas?
  Reply With Quote
11-19-10, 02:20 AM   #2
zork
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
zork's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 1,740
unitlevel is always -1 for bosses. try that.
__________________
| Simple is beautiful.
| WoWI AddOns | GitHub | Zork (WoW)

"I wonder what the non-pathetic people are doing tonight?" - Rajesh Koothrappali (The Big Bang Theory)
  Reply With Quote
11-19-10, 02:31 AM   #3
Talyrius
An Onyxian Warder
 
Talyrius's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 363
That doesn't work either. They actually return a real level now.
  Reply With Quote
11-19-10, 03:30 AM   #4
neverg
A Frostmaul Preserver
 
neverg's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 268
You sure? If I remember right I tested it and it was working well... but can't recall exactly.

Anyway Blizzard function for classification works exactly like before:

lua Code:
  1. function TargetFrame_CheckClassification (self, forceNormalTexture)
  2.     local texture;
  3.     local classification = UnitClassification(self.unit);
  4.     if ( classification == "worldboss" or classification == "elite" ) then
  5.         texture = "Interface\\TargetingFrame\\UI-TargetingFrame-Elite";
  6.     elseif ( classification == "rareelite" ) then
  7.         texture = "Interface\\TargetingFrame\\UI-TargetingFrame-Rare-Elite";
  8.     elseif ( classification == "rare" ) then
  9.         texture = "Interface\\TargetingFrame\\UI-TargetingFrame-Rare";
  10.     end
  11.     if ( texture and not forceNormalTexture) then
  12.         self.borderTexture:SetTexture(texture);
  13.         self.haveElite = true;
  14.         if ( self.threatIndicator ) then
  15.             self.threatIndicator:SetTexCoord(0, 0.9453125, 0.181640625, 0.400390625);
  16.             self.threatIndicator:SetWidth(242);
  17.             self.threatIndicator:SetHeight(112);
  18.             self.threatIndicator:SetPoint("TOPLEFT", self, "TOPLEFT", -22, 9);
  19.         end    
  20.     else
  21.         self.borderTexture:SetTexture("Interface\\TargetingFrame\\UI-TargetingFrame");
  22.         self.haveElite = nil;
  23.         if ( self.threatIndicator ) then
  24.             self.threatIndicator:SetTexCoord(0, 0.9453125, 0, 0.181640625);
  25.             self.threatIndicator:SetWidth(242);
  26.             self.threatIndicator:SetHeight(93);
  27.             self.threatIndicator:SetPoint("TOPLEFT", self, "TOPLEFT", -24, 0);
  28.         end
  29.     end
  30.  
  31.     if (self.questIcon) then
  32.         if (UnitIsQuestBoss(self.unit)) then
  33.             self.questIcon:Show();
  34.         else
  35.             self.questIcon:Hide();
  36.         end
  37.     end
  38. end
__________________
My oUF Layout: oUF Lumen
  Reply With Quote
11-19-10, 04:04 AM   #5
Talyrius
An Onyxian Warder
 
Talyrius's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 363
Yes, I'm sure. That bit of code you quoted is what shows the golden dragon artwork around the TargetFrame. If you read it, it is showing the same texture for bosses as it is for elite units.
lua Code:
  1. if ( classification == "worldboss" or classification == "elite" ) then
  2.     texture = "Interface\\TargetingFrame\\UI-TargetingFrame-Elite";
  3. ...

Just for clarification, I said this is happening only for NEW bosses in the Cataclysm beta. Any OLD bosses (previous expansions/classic) still retain their 'worldboss' classification.

Last edited by Talyrius : 11-19-10 at 04:15 AM.
  Reply With Quote
11-19-10, 04:17 AM   #6
zork
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
zork's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 1,740
so what does it return? have you printed the value?
__________________
| Simple is beautiful.
| WoWI AddOns | GitHub | Zork (WoW)

"I wonder what the non-pathetic people are doing tonight?" - Rajesh Koothrappali (The Big Bang Theory)
  Reply With Quote
11-19-10, 05:19 AM   #7
Talyrius
An Onyxian Warder
 
Talyrius's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 363
Corborus in The Stonecore (Heroic):
UnitClassification(unit) returns 'elite'
UnitLevel(unit) returns '87'
  Reply With Quote
11-19-10, 06:19 AM   #8
zork
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
zork's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 1,740
Since when would heroic bosses return worldboss? Heroic dungeon bosses are playerlevel+2 and elite. Exactly as you posted.

The worldboss only affects raidbosses and faction leaders like king of Stormwind and major lore characters (Uther etc.).

See this?


The demon under the targetframe indicates no worldboss for my UI and that is not Cataclysm.

Worldboss
__________________
| Simple is beautiful.
| WoWI AddOns | GitHub | Zork (WoW)

"I wonder what the non-pathetic people are doing tonight?" - Rajesh Koothrappali (The Big Bang Theory)

Last edited by zork : 11-19-10 at 06:23 AM.
  Reply With Quote
11-19-10, 06:38 AM   #9
Talyrius
An Onyxian Warder
 
Talyrius's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 363
Well, I never do heroics anymore on live as I have no need to, so I guess I thought this was new behavior. They are bosses, so I don't understand why they aren't classified as such.
  Reply With Quote
11-19-10, 06:47 AM   #10
Dawn
A Molten Giant
 
Dawn's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 918
Well, you could create a table containing the names of units you want to show up as "boss".
__________________
Rock: "We're sub-standard DPS. Nerf Paper, Scissors are fine."
Paper: "OMG, WTF, Scissors!"
Scissors: "Rock is OP and Paper are QQers. We need PvP buffs."

"neeh the game wont be remembered as the game who made blizz the most money, it will be remembered as the game who had the most QQ'ers that just couldnt quit the game for some reason..."

  Reply With Quote
11-19-10, 07:02 AM   #11
Talyrius
An Onyxian Warder
 
Talyrius's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 363
Am I not crazy then? I could have sworn that heroic dungeon bosses were classified with 'worldboss' prior to making this thread.
  Reply With Quote
11-19-10, 07:23 AM   #12
Dawn
A Molten Giant
 
Dawn's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 918
What I found with fast google'ing

__________________
Rock: "We're sub-standard DPS. Nerf Paper, Scissors are fine."
Paper: "OMG, WTF, Scissors!"
Scissors: "Rock is OP and Paper are QQers. We need PvP buffs."

"neeh the game wont be remembered as the game who made blizz the most money, it will be remembered as the game who had the most QQ'ers that just couldnt quit the game for some reason..."

  Reply With Quote
11-19-10, 11:08 AM   #13
p3lim
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
p3lim's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,711
"Bosses" in dungeons are not classified as worldboss, since that only applies to 83+ mobs (raids).

If you want something special to be done with them, you need to jot down their GUID and/or unique names.
  Reply With Quote
11-19-10, 11:23 AM   #14
Talyrius
An Onyxian Warder
 
Talyrius's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 363
Yes, I could always embed LibBossIDs-1.0 if I really wanted to. I am currently undecided.
  Reply With Quote

WoWInterface » Featured Projects » oUF (Otravi Unit Frames) » How to classify new Cataclysm bosses?


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off