Thread Tools Display Modes
10-19-10, 10:05 AM   #1
alrit
A Defias Bandit
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 2
Question Addon for Raid smoke flares?

It's a lovely function in the new blizzard raid ui.

But after removing original raid frames with no!CRFM or simular addons, I can never find the flag button to use smoke flares.

Is there a way or an addon can bring this flag button back? or make it a more interesting way using smoke flares? ...
  Reply With Quote
10-19-10, 10:14 AM   #2
Dridzt
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
Dridzt's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,362
I started working on something like that but unfortunately the relevant functions are protected.

Still looking at workarounds, I'll post (if no one beats me to it) when I have something that doesn't taint.
  Reply With Quote
10-19-10, 12:39 PM   #3
Xinhuan
A Chromatic Dragonspawn
 
Xinhuan's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 174
The following macro works

Code:
/click CompactRaidFrameManagerDisplayFrameLeaderOptionsRaidWorldMarkerButton
/click DropDownList1Button4
Where 4 is a number from 1 to 6. The first 5 corresponds to the 5 colors and the 6th one removes all flares.

Since the macro works as-is (don't try to run it by typing it in the editbox, it won't work), an addon can of course also create an action button with type="macro" for it.
__________________
Author of Postal, Omen3, GemHelper, BankItems, WoWEquip, GatherMate, GatherMate2, Routes and Cartographer_Routes
  Reply With Quote
10-19-10, 01:45 PM   #4
Dridzt
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
Dridzt's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,362
Originally Posted by Xinhuan View Post
The following macro works

Code:
/click CompactRaidFrameManagerDisplayFrameLeaderOptionsRaidWorldMarkerButton
/click DropDownList1Button4
Where 4 is a number from 1 to 6. The first 5 corresponds to the 5 colors and the 6th one removes all flares.

Since the macro works as-is (don't try to run it by typing it in the editbox, it won't work), an addon can of course also create an action button with type="macro" for it.
This also taints.

Run it without opening the compact raid pull out even once (so it 'initializes') after logging on and you will see.
The addon button with macrotext attribute was the first thing I tried couple days ago.

Last edited by Dridzt : 10-19-10 at 01:45 PM. Reason: before -> after
  Reply With Quote
10-19-10, 01:53 PM   #5
Vlad
A Molten Giant
 
Vlad's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 793
I wonder why Blizz protects API that can't really be exploited with to begin with. This is one prime example, how can you cheat in the game by having an addon "cast" a flare for you? You would have to click to actually apply it in the world anyway -and that's already protected, so...

Meh, wish they could work as a team sometimes when coding the UI and implementing API. Feels like some decisions are not made as a team, that's all I am saying. Protect the code that you must, have secure templates for stuff like buffs, actionbars, e.g. so addons can't be used for playing the game for you, other than that leave the rest for the modders to use -also don't use local variables like the consolidation table, can't even hooksecure to alter it's function as there is no way of hooking a local variable either... keep stuff global when you don't got the options implemented to customize to begin with.
  Reply With Quote
10-20-10, 01:12 AM   #6
SDPhantom
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
SDPhantom's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 2,336
It's a global thing, performing any "action" is protected.
Also, possible exploits don't have to necessarily be blatant.
Example, if an addon were able to cast flares on a timer script, it would constantly reset the AFK flag in the system. In essence, an AFK bot.
__________________
WoWInterface AddOns
"All I want is a pretty girl, a decent meal, and the right to shoot lightning at fools."
-Anders (Dragon Age: Origins - Awakening)
  Reply With Quote

WoWInterface » AddOns, Compilations, Macros » AddOn Search/Requests » Addon for Raid smoke flares?


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off