Reply
Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread 07-15-08, 06:14 PM   #1
spiel2001
nUI's Author
 
spiel2001's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 7,724
Losing textures when switching windowed mode

I'm having a problem with a mod I have created. In a nutshell, when users toggle between windowed and non-windowed video modes, nearly all of the textures for my various graphic elements disappear. The frames are all still there and things like text labels and such still appear, but all custom textures vanish.

Toggling windowed modes again, switching video size and other similar actions do not fix the problem. The only "fix" is "/console reloadui"

Can anyone tell me what the root cause of this type of behavior might be or how to solve it?

My mod, "nUI", can be found at http://www.wowinterface.com/downloads/fileinfo.php?id=9108

Thanks for any help anyone can provide on this.
spiel2001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-15-08, 09:17 PM   #2
Seerah
Fishing Trainer
 
Seerah's Avatar
WoWInterface Super Mod
Featured
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 9,688
This is a known issue with the game and some video cards, seen on macs most often, but also PCs. MazzleUI is also plagued with it, and I have seen it myself, even with simple texture replacements, like tooltip borders.
__________________
"You'd be surprised how many people violate this simple principle every day of their lives and try to fit square pegs into round holes, ignoring the clear reality that Things Are As They Are." -Benjamin Hoff, The Tao of Pooh

Seerah is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-15-08, 10:32 PM   #3
spiel2001
nUI's Author
 
spiel2001's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 7,724
Originally Posted by Seerah View Post
This is a known issue with the game and some video cards, seen on macs most often, but also PCs. MazzleUI is also plagued with it, and I have seen it myself, even with simple texture replacements, like tooltip borders.
Cool... thanks... so it's not my code that's at issue then.

/sigh in relief
spiel2001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-01-08, 01:59 AM   #4
zork
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
zork's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 1,391
If its a graphic card issue there is probably nothing that you can do. What helped me on another occasion was a OnShow script. It may not help you here, but its worth a try.

Don't forget to anchor the main frame to UIParent this is important especially for scaling issues.

Code:
    local f = CreateFrame("Frame",nil,UIParent)
    f:SetFrameStrata("BACKGROUND")
    f:SetWidth(200)
    f:SetHeight(200)
    f:SetPoint("CENTER",0,0)
    f:Show()
    
    local t = f:CreateTexture(nil, "BACKGROUND")
    t:SetTexture("PATH\\TO\\MY\\TEXTURE")
    t:SetAllPoints(f)

    f:SetScript("OnShow",function() 
      DEFAULT_CHAT_FRAME:AddMessage("ping")
      t:SetTexture("PATH\\TO\\MY\\TEXTURE")
    end)
The script will become active for example when opening and closing the WordMap and on every other occasion where the UIParent runs the OnShow event.
__________________
| Simple is beautiful.
| Roth UI | Roth UI FAQ | GoogleCode | Zork | TDMOG

"I wonder what the non-pathetic people are doing tonight?" - Rajesh Koothrappali (The Big Bang Theory)
zork is online now   Reply With Quote
Unread 06-18-10, 04:29 AM   #5
spiel2001
nUI's Author
 
spiel2001's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 7,724
Since that stupid spammer's necro'd this thread and I had forgotten the thread even existed, I thought I would post this here in case anyone was searching for a solution to this problem in the future...

Originally Posted by Cesard View Post
Ok, then.... I did some research, and I got it working once more.

Apparently Blizz is messing with stuff having to do with Macs.. They've changed the default value of gxApi to "OpenGL" which is the old value.

I edited the config.wtf file and added the line:

SET gxApi "GLL"

and that fixed it once more.

Now, understand this is for Mac only.. I have no idea what's going on in the PC world regarding this issue, if it's fixed or what. But for Mac users affected by 3.3.2, this fixed it for me.

This should work until Blizz once again changes things.
.
Originally Posted by Master Redwing View Post
First off, thanks for this ui, it's amazing.

I was having the white bar problem on my Fiancee's Mac, and I tried to add the line SET gxApi "GLL" to the config.wtf file, but the game continually deleted that line, and the problem persisted.
I then tried typing /console set gxapi GLL in chat after logging in to WoW, and it worked like a charm.
Hopefully this helps anybody else stuck with this problem.
__________________

What people don't get is that I am, ultimately, an artist at heart.
My brush has two colors, 1 and 0, and my canvas is made of silicon.



Official nUI Web Site: http://www.nUIaddon.com
Official nUI Support Forum: http://forums.nUIaddon.com
My day job: http://www.presidio.com/
spiel2001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go BackWoWInterface » Developer Discussions » Graphics Help » Losing textures when switching windowed mode

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off