Thread Tools Display Modes
01-26-14, 05:37 AM   #1
Basso
A Fallenroot Satyr
 
Basso's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 22
Looking for a russian developer!

Hi there, i need help from some russian friends.
My AddOn BgDBM-Skin works fine in the western world as far as i can say, but a russian user has a error:

Code:
Message: Interface\AddOns\DBM-StatusBarTimers\DBT.lua:135: attempt to index field '?' (a nil value)
Time: 01/25/14 20:03:40
Count: 1
Stack: Interface\AddOns\DBM-StatusBarTimers\DBT.lua:135: in main chunk

Locals: _ = "Разбойник"
playerClass = "ROGUE"
colours = <table> {
HUNTER = <table> {
}
WARRIOR = <table> {
}
PALADIN = <table> {
}
ROUGE = <table> {
}
PRIEST = <table> {
}
WARLOCK = <table> {
}
MAGE = <table> {
}
SHAMAN = <table> {
}
DRUID = <table> {
}
MONK = <table> {
}
DEATHKNIGHT = <table> {
}
}
multi = 0.6
barPrototype = <table> {
}
unusedBars = <table> {
}
unusedBarObjects = <table> {
}
instances = <table> {
}
updateClickThrough = nil
options = nil
setupHandlers = nil
stringFromTimer = <function> defined @Interface\AddOns\DBM-StatusBarTimers\DBT.lua:78
ipairs = <function> defined =[C]:-1
pairs = <function> defined =[C]:-1
next = <function> defined =[C]:-1
type = <function> defined =[C]:-1
tinsert = <function> defined =[C]:-1
(*temporary) = <table> {
Flash = <table> {
}
HugeBarYOffset = <table> {
}
Texture = <table> {
}
ExpandUpwards = <table> {
}
Spark = <table> {
}
HugeBarXOffset = <table> {
}
IconLeft = <table> {
}
IconRight = <table> {
}
BarYOffset = <table> {
}
BarXOffset = <table> {
}
}
(*temporary) = <table> {
type = "number"
}
(*temporary) = nil
(*temporary) = nil
(*temporary) = nil
(*temporary) = nil
(*temporary) = nil
(*temporary) = nil
(*temporary) = nil
(*temporary) = nil
(*temporary) = nil
(*temporary) = nil
(*temporary) = nil
(*temporary) = nil
(*temporary) = nil
(*temporary) = nil
(*temporary) = nil
(*temporary) = nil
(*temporary) = nil
(*temporary) = nil
(*temporary) = nil
(*temporary) = nil
(*temporary) = nil
(*temporary) = "attempt to index field '?' (a nil value)"
I aks him that a friend should try it too so i could make sure its because of the russian version and yes he did have the same, i know what this error means, the var i use var the colors seems to be empty, but i have no clue why this happens in the russian version or how to fix it, i mean im not using any localized stuff in there and i also cant try myself because if i change my wow to russian i cant connect to any server, besides that i cant read anything. XD

Does anyone have a clue and can help me so the russian users can use my addon too?

thanks in advance
basso
  Reply With Quote
01-26-14, 05:52 AM   #2
Resike
A Pyroguard Emberseer
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 1,290
It probably caused because you're using a non-localized table value:

class - The localized name of the unit's class, or the unit's name if the unit is an NPC (string)
classFileName - A non-localized token representing the class (string)

local class, classFileName = UnitClass("unit")

Edit: Nevemind, i tought you're using a diffrenet colortable.

But found the issue:

You misspelled ROGUE / ROUGE on the table.

So the addon would drop this bug to any rogue.

Last edited by Resike : 01-26-14 at 06:02 AM.
  Reply With Quote
01-26-14, 05:56 AM   #3
Basso
A Fallenroot Satyr
 
Basso's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 22
Yeah thats the thing im already using the non localized token, the classFileName as you labeled it.
local _, playerClass = UnitClass("player")

Nothing localized
  Reply With Quote
01-26-14, 06:04 AM   #4
Resike
A Pyroguard Emberseer
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 1,290
Originally Posted by Basso View Post
Yeah thats the thing im already using the non localized token, the classFileName as you labeled it.
local _, playerClass = UnitClass("player")

Nothing localized
Read my edit.
  Reply With Quote
01-26-14, 06:18 AM   #5
Basso
A Fallenroot Satyr
 
Basso's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 22
Originally Posted by Resike View Post
Read my edit.
*Head meets Desk several times*

Thank you, what a stupid mistake.
  Reply With Quote
01-26-14, 06:54 AM   #6
Resike
A Pyroguard Emberseer
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 1,290
Originally Posted by Basso View Post
*Head meets Desk several times*

Thank you, what a stupid mistake.
Belive me, you won't make it again.
  Reply With Quote
01-26-14, 03:30 PM   #7
Cairenn
Credendo Vides
 
Cairenn's Avatar
Premium Member
WoWInterface Admin
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 7,134
Also, believe me, you aren't the first and you won't be the last [to make a silly, obvious, head-desk mistake].
  Reply With Quote
01-27-14, 08:31 AM   #8
Wimpface
A Molten Giant
 
Wimpface's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 648
Originally Posted by Cairenn View Post
Also, believe me, you aren't the first and you won't be the last [to make a silly, obvious, head-desk mistake].
I have a thread atleast every 1-2 weeks on these forums with a silly mistake like this. Atleast, that's what the average should be as I go very long periods without doing anything related to addons and then when I do mess around, I post around 3-4 threads a week. It's great fun.

A few years ago, I remember contemplating on making just one big thread where I'd ask questions but I decided against it. It felt silly having 2-3 active threads at once under my name.
__________________
All I see is strobe lights blinding me in my hindsight.
  Reply With Quote

WoWInterface » Developer Discussions » Lua/XML Help » Looking for a russian developer!

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off