Thread Tools Display Modes
10-22-14, 04:34 PM   #1
zork
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
zork's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 1,740
BlizzardCombatText

Today I played around a little with the default combat text.

I had pretty good results with:
Lua Code:
  1. LoadAddOn("Blizzard_CombatText")
  2.  
  3. DAMAGE_TEXT_FONT = "Fonts\\DAMAGE.ttf"
  4.  
  5. SystemFont_Shadow_Huge3:SetFont(STANDARD_TEXT_FONT, 16, "OUTLINE")
  6. SystemFont_Shadow_Huge3:SetShadowOffset(1,-1)
  7. SystemFont_Shadow_Huge3:SetShadowColor(0,0,0,0.6)
  8.  
  9. COMBAT_TEXT_HEIGHT = 16
  10. COMBAT_TEXT_CRIT_MAXHEIGHT = 24
  11. COMBAT_TEXT_CRIT_MINHEIGHT = 16
  12. COMBAT_TEXT_SCROLLSPEED = 3
  13.  
  14. hooksecurefunc("CombatText_UpdateDisplayedMessages", function()
  15.   if COMBAT_TEXT_FLOAT_MODE == "1" then
  16.     COMBAT_TEXT_LOCATIONS.startY = 484
  17.     COMBAT_TEXT_LOCATIONS.endY = 709
  18.   end
  19. end)

The combat text is using "SetTextHeight" which is causing distortion. But if you keep the font small it is actually not that bad.


__________________
| Simple is beautiful.
| WoWI AddOns | GitHub | Zork (WoW)

"I wonder what the non-pathetic people are doing tonight?" - Rajesh Koothrappali (The Big Bang Theory)

Last edited by zork : 10-22-14 at 04:48 PM.
  Reply With Quote
10-22-14, 07:12 PM   #2
Seerah
Fishing Trainer
 
Seerah's Avatar
WoWInterface Super Mod
Featured
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 10,860
I would not force the addon to load. Just make your addon LoD and use "LoadsWith: Blizzard_CombatText" in the TOC, or register for "ADDON_LOADED" and look for Blizzard_CombatText.
__________________
"You'd be surprised how many people violate this simple principle every day of their lives and try to fit square pegs into round holes, ignoring the clear reality that Things Are As They Are." -Benjamin Hoff, The Tao of Pooh

  Reply With Quote
10-23-14, 12:01 AM   #3
zork
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
zork's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 1,740
Loadswith sounds nice. Thanks, will try that.

Tested. Does not work.

So either I keep it that way or add a LoadAddon handler. Which I do not need because I use the Blizzard CombatText.
__________________
| Simple is beautiful.
| WoWI AddOns | GitHub | Zork (WoW)

"I wonder what the non-pathetic people are doing tonight?" - Rajesh Koothrappali (The Big Bang Theory)

Last edited by zork : 10-23-14 at 12:16 AM.
  Reply With Quote
10-23-14, 01:24 AM   #4
p3lim
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
p3lim's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,710
It's "LoadWith" not "LoadsWith".

http://wowpedia.org/TOC_format
  Reply With Quote
10-23-14, 02:26 AM   #5
zork
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
zork's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 1,740
>_>

Ok will try again.
__________________
| Simple is beautiful.
| WoWI AddOns | GitHub | Zork (WoW)

"I wonder what the non-pathetic people are doing tonight?" - Rajesh Koothrappali (The Big Bang Theory)
  Reply With Quote
10-23-14, 03:24 AM   #6
p3lim
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
p3lim's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,710
You might need to set this too:

Code:
## LoadOnDemand: 1
  Reply With Quote
10-23-14, 03:00 PM   #7
zork
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
zork's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 1,740
Thx p3lim. Worked perfectly.
https://code.google.com/p/rothui/sou....0/rCombatText
__________________
| Simple is beautiful.
| WoWI AddOns | GitHub | Zork (WoW)

"I wonder what the non-pathetic people are doing tonight?" - Rajesh Koothrappali (The Big Bang Theory)
  Reply With Quote

WoWInterface » Developer Discussions » General Authoring Discussion » BlizzardCombatText


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off