WoWInterface

WoWInterface (https://www.wowinterface.com/forums/index.php)
-   General Authoring Discussion (https://www.wowinterface.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=20)
-   -   Addon Devleoper Interviews (https://www.wowinterface.com/forums/showthread.php?t=39341)

timmerino 03-19-11 10:14 AM

Addon Developer Interviews

I am a graduate student at the University of Texas at Austin and I am working on a research project which is examining the use of AddOns in World of Warcraft and the Blizzard AddOn UI model. I would be interested in speaking with any AddOn developer with any level of AddOn development experience. It doesn't matter whether you develop AddOns for public use or just your own personal use. I anticipate that the interviews will take between one and two hours and we can conduct them online. I have conducted the majority of my interviews in WoW through RealID chat. Please let me know if you are interested, and I look forward to speaking with you!

Tim Arnold
Master's Candidate in Information Studies, Expected 2012
The University of Texas at Austin

[email protected]

Crissa 03-19-11 10:35 PM

That's usually a scam, you know. Original research? How are we to know this is real?

-Crissa

Seerah 03-19-11 11:05 PM

Not always...

Grimsin 03-19-11 11:08 PM

Asking for real id conversations though is risky. That provides people with your account login name basically. I would only do this if you have a authenticator.

Seerah - do you have inside info that this person is legit?

Seerah 03-19-11 11:34 PM

No, I do not. But I prefer not to be accusatory. :) Though you are correct - one should always be careful.

timmerino 03-19-11 11:42 PM

I'm sorry, I didn't consider that one might think that this is a scam. If you feel at all uncomfortable chatting over RealID, I would be more than happy to use any other IM service. I have actually conducted a number of interviews over Gmail's IM, but I could definitely use any other IM.